Tags

,

I remember the days of ridiculous eating. We’d go to The Barnsider, a north Dayton tradition with truly amazing fried shrimp breaded by hand and the best cocktail sauce ever. So good in fact, it’s now sold in local markets.  I’d order a jumbo shrimp cocktail with that head-clearing sauce, french onion soup – rich and dark – with house-made croutons and bubbly melted cheese, house salad, filet – char rare – and king crab legs with drawn butter, baked potato with sour cream and chives, cheesecake. Plus cocktails and wine. I used to call it my “farewell to fat feast”, but  eating like that never made any pounds disappear despite my good intentions. Back then it seemed like an exciting adventure and the food hangovers were not insufferable. Today I cannot imagine eating that amount of food in one sitting.

deep_pure_cow_ghee_frontI thought of that meal as I was making ghee (drawn butter kicked up a notch) in preparation for Week 4 of my Cleanse. I’d used ghee once or twice in the past, but it was store-bought and not particularly attractive.

This time, I thought I’d whip up a batch of my own. It really is like drawn, or clarified butter, but cooked for a bit longer. Back in the days when I made drawn butter at home for crab legs, I’d just melt whatever I had on hand. But all dishes are as good as the ingredients used, so Kerrygold Pure Irish Butter made its way in to my shopping cart.

IMG_2865

At $3.99 for 8 ounces, it was the best butter I could find at the local big box market (I REALLY need to get back in the habit of shopping at Findlay Market on Saturdays), and dreamed of the incredible Amish butter I used to get from time to time at the Second Street Market in Dayton. Try to find unsalted butter if possible. So with great butter in hand, it was time to get my ghee on. Here’s a method that worked well for me.


ingredients
8 oz. good butter, preferably unsalted

how to
Place the butter in a small saucepan with deep sides (it will splatter) over medium low heat.
IMG_2867

Simmer for 25 to 30 minutes, stirring occasionally until fully melted and it becomes deeply golden. Solids will form on the top and bottom of the liquid; be careful not to burn.

IMG_2869

Strain thru cheesecloth to remove all the milk solids, and discard the solids. Note: tasting the mixture as it first started to melt, it was overwhelming salty. Removing all the solids seemed to remove most of the salty flavor.

IMG_2870

IMG_2871

I strained this a second time thru an even finer cheesecloth to remove the last of the solids. The result is a beautiful golden liquid which may be used for cooking or to drizzle over veggies or rice.

IMG_2873

Definitely prettier than store-bought!

Keep away from light at room temperature for up to 12 months. And with a watchful eye, easy to make as ABC.

