Tags

, ,

When I was a wee one, I wanted to ice skate just like Sonja Henie. Santa brought me a pair of double-bladed skates for Christmas one year, and I was thrilled to go to nearby Parks Lake to try them out. But the strangest thing happened. Mom strapped the skates onto my boots and walked me out onto the ice and NOTHING HAPPENED. No glides, no twirls, and certainly no applause. That was the end of my skating career.
draft_lens16634521module141837271photo_1292800824sonja-henie_velvet

Sometimes when I’m in the kitchen and things go well, it brings back the memories of the disappointment on the ice, because cooking successes make me feel like I’ve just landed a triple Axel.

Tonight was one of those nights. First there was the gorgeous beet juice and then the beet powder. Made from the dredges left behind during the juicing process,
P1150097the emulsified beets are spread out in a thin layer on parchment paper and place in the microwave.
P1150098

Nuke on low for about 30-40 minutes until the beets are dry.
P1150099Notice the change in color and texture! Let the beets cool to room temperature. Grind the beets to a powder in a coffee or spice grinder.P1150100P1150101

Store in a covered plastic container.

Take that, Sonja!


