Tags

, , , , ,

Last week, unable to stand the thought of “going Krogering”, my empty pantry and fridge forced me to dine on scrambled eggs. A lot. UGH. This week, I have a fridge full of yummy freshness from Findlay Market. Arriving home late tonight with a rumbling tummy, I wanted something fast.

Yes. Caprese salad, but grilled not chilled.
Garlic butter, Roma tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, seed bread and basil from my garden.

Heat a non-stick pan over medium heat. Brush one side of each slide of bread with the garlic butter. Butter side down, top one slice of bread with the cheese and the other with the tomatoes. Season tomatoes with salt and pepper. Place in the skillet and cover.
 When the cheese begins to melt, uncover and add basil.
Carefully flip the cheese covered bread onto the tomato covered slice. Remove from the pan. Slice and serve with a drizzle of good balsamic.  [OK, this is a more of a schmear. Note to self: get a squeeze bottle already.]
Now I’m chillin’ eatin’ my grillin’.

