Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Memorial Day weekend was brutally hot – in the mid 90’s.  Almost too hot to eat (although I always seem to be able to work up at least a modest appetite). And my friend Holly served up the perfect hot night dinner – tabbouleh.

Inspired, I decided to make a big bowl to get me through this weekend. On Friday, I hit the local (and my least favorite) grocery store. You know, the one where you can also buy a sofa. I was able to easily find the parsley (my potted herbs are not quite ready for harvest), lemon and tomato I needed. But finding the bulgur was another story. In my beloved Dorothy Lane Market (not a sofa in sight), bulgur is with all the other grains. At big box Kroger, I searched the aisle with all the flour, rice and grains to no avail. I searched the international aisle to no avail. I asked two employees (once I was actually able to find people working) to no avail. “Bulgur? Never heard of it” was the assistance reluctantly provided. I finally stumbled on Bob’s Red Mill bulgur in the organic section. Four ingredients – 45 minutes of shopping. AARRGGH. [DLM, please open a store in Cin-tucky!]

I digress.

Holly advised  that she follows the recipe on the bulgur package, but adds more parsley and garlic. So I did, too. Lots more parsley. More mint. More lemon. Garlic. And then served it up with chopped English cucumber, Feta from the adorable cheese shop Krause’s at Findlay Market, Kalamata olives, hummus and warm whole wheat pita.

Go ahead, summer. Bring it on. I’m ready.

Tabbouleh
makes four servings
1 cup bulgur
1.5 cups chopped flat leaf parsley
1/4 cup mint, chopped
3 green onions, sliced
1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
large pinch ground cumin
1/2 tsp salt
2 ripe plum tomatoes seeded and chopped
3 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
3 tbsp good olive oil
English cucumber, chopped
Feta, crumbled

Place bulgur in a bowl and top with 1 cup boiling water. Let stand one hour. Then gently mix in all other ingredients except cucumber and feta. Best if left overnight so flavors can marry. To serve, mix in the chopped cucumber (about half the cuke) and crumbled Feta to taste.

