Tags

, , , , ,

On a recent trip to New York, I met homemade ricotta for the first time at Five Leaves (in the Greenpoint neighborhood of Brooklyn) and fell in love. I was meeting my daughter’s boyfriend for the first time, and we brunched here on his recommendation. Seated at a tiny bistro table outside on a perfect, summer day, I was prepared to enjoy the beautiful weather and some lively conversation. But when the ricotta arrived – served with fresh figs, fresh thyme, honeycomb and Maldon sea salt surrounded by warm slices of fruit-nut bread – my focus shifted. Unlike the thick, pasty, somewhat grainy ricotta available in groceries, this was smooth and creamy with melt-in-your mouth curds.  Could I do this at home?? Today, we’ll see.

EPILOGUE

At home version:
The homemade ricotta is just lovely (and so easy)! Fresh thyme from my garden, fresh figs, local honey from Spice Rack, raisin nut bread from Dorothy Lane Market and Hawaii red salt from Colonel De in Cincinnati’s historic Findlay Market.

